It’s Nearly Arcade Fire Time!

So this week has been fucking AMAZING. On Monday, my lovely other half and I went for a meal. We decided to check out the new ‘place to be’ in town, which is called Cosy Club. Cosy Club is a restaurant chain in the UK that sells burgers, chicken, and that kind of thing. I really liked the look of the place as it’s in a huge, beautiful building in the centre of York. The decor is gorgeous, but unfortunately the food was very mediocre. My phone pinged, and it was a notification from the Bands in Town app, informing that my all time favourite band Arcade Fire are playing a gig at the Baths Hall.

I didn’t even know where Baths Hall is, but I read that it was in Scunthorpe. I also read that it is 1400 capacity venue, which baring in mind, Arcade Fire are one of the world’s biggest and best bands, who usually play to 10.000 to 20.000 people. I asked my taxi driver bf (so handy at times) how far it is, to which he replied just over an hour away…

This of course gave me heart palpitations. An hour and a half away?! 1400 capacity.  I WILL BE THE CLOSEST I’LL EVER BE TO THEM. And I don’t think I’ll ever get the opportunity to see them in a small venue like this, as this is just a warm up show for their european festival tour.

Paul tried calm me down, reminding me that we’re seeing them 2 days after at the Isle of Wight festival, and then 3 weeks after that in Manchester. Luckily for me, Paul didn’t need much persuading as he is a massive fan too, so we agreed that we can go see them, as long as we both agree that’s it for gigs until after the Manchester date in July.

The next step was actually getting the tickets, which went on sale on Wednesday. They were obviously going to sell out in a couple of seconds, and media outlets all over the world were genuinely posting articles about it all the time, as Scunthorpe isn’t *ahem* a place you’d usually get to see indie royalty like AF!

I had a couple of pints to relax myself, not even caring that the food was shit, because I could be seeing Arcade Fire  in a stupidly small venue. I get kinda obsessive with things, where if I’m worried then I can’t get it off my mind. I had such bad anxiety about getting these tickets on Wednesday, that I couldn’t relax at all. The worst thing was; I was at work. Luckily I have an awesome boss, who must of heard the desperation in my voice when I asked if I could go on the computer at 8.45am…

I got Paul to go on the computer at home, and I got the computer sorted out and tried to get on the venue website at about 10 to 9, as I read that they’re the place that most tickets are going to be, therefore I assumed I would be best off going on there. I could not get on, neither could Paul. Time was running out. I had an idea, and that idea was to check other sites. That site worked. Phew! I sat on the computer waiting for the tickets to go on sale at 9, with my heart literally thumping out of my chest! I’m not even lying here, but I really thought that I was going to have a panic attack 😦 As soon as the clock struck 9, I HIT THAT ENTER BUTTON AS FAST AS LIGHTNING! Fucking got them didn’t I. So after a little victory dance, I rung my other half telling him I got them, much to his delight 😀

Turns out, literally ten’s of thousands of people tried to get these tickets, and they sold out in a second. I am so lucky, and I know it’s going to be the best night of my life. Even better, the morning after we drive to the festival to see them again, but in a completely different environment. Call us crazy, but if you’re a big fan of Arcade Fire, then you would understand that this band are worth it. Easily the best band in modern time.

My friend Harriet and I went for breakfast to celebrate the fact I got tickets, and she got into University. After breakfast, we went to check out the new Harry Potter shop down the Shambles in York. The Shambles was JK Rowling’s inspiration for Diagon Alley, so this is long overdue! I bought a Slytherin badge, and Harriet got a Horcux keyring. I honesty could of spent more than I did, but after spending £107 on tickets a couple of hours beforehand, I thought I’d just keep spending to a minimum.

Yesterday (Thursday) was also a really nice day. I had a good day at work, followed by a chilled night with the best friend. We had some food, and listened to some music, before taking her pug Harold for a walk. Gotta love pugs! Great to get some fresh air too, and the sky looked so pretty! Best sunset I had seen in ages.

Today I finished the book I’ve been reading, and chilled out on my guitar. I love days like this. I’ve finally mastered  Let It Be, finally! Practice DOES make perfect. Also we’re still deciding where to go on holiday. We have come to the conclusion that we’re just not the type to lounge around a pool/beach all day, so instead of looking for Cyprus, Greece and places like that, we’re going to go somewhere like Budapest, or maybe even New York if there’s a cheap last minute deal!

Right now I’ve got to go get ready for a friend’s birthday night out. Hope I don’t feel too hungover in the morning!

Wishful thinking ~

Leave a Reply

